Compulsive shopping

I should feel more sympathy for the compulsive shoppers, but I have to admit that my first reaction is to think they are pretty idiotic. Much of my spiel here is about how the industrial system molds individuals into compulsive shoppers to some degree or another, and perhaps its defensiveness over my own shopping compulsions that makes me recoil and scorn the truly obvious cases — they’re ruining it for everyone by making it so plain. So I should really celebrate their existance, beaue they illustrate at the far end of the continuum what is true of us all. Money magazine, that bane of my mailbox, arrived recently, and besides naming my girlfirend’s hometown the “best place to live in America” on the cover (she had quite a laugh over that), it included a little featurelet about compulsive shopping. It was as insightful as any feature in Money (that is, not really insightful at all) but I was fascinated nonetheless by the extremely bizarre nature of the shopping addiction of the woman profiled. She was addicted to buying clothes from Gymboree, a children’s clothes store. That the addiction had taken such a bizarre form seems to demand some consideration of psychological factors dealing with family dynamics, as opposed to the socieconomic points I’d be inclined to hammer on ordinarily. What a bizarre way to get overinvolved in your kids’ lives, by buying them coordinated outfits obsessively from a cutesy mall store. It probably has less to do with trying to buy the kids’ love than to return to childhood yourself but with an adult’s buying power or, rather, an adult’s credit limits. A collector’s mania probably factors in as well. Compulsive shopping probably needs several alibis to take root to the point where you can be a feature story subject in Money. The collector alibi, the gift-giving alibi, the nostalgia alibi — then the ad/sales propaganda kicks in a few: sales, limited editions and so forth. The motives vecome complex, impossible to unravel, so that when you talk yourself out of one reason, there’s another around the corner to convince you. I suppose that’s how the psychology of addiction works in general. Anyway, it’s especially important to discipline compulsive shoppers and humiliate them in various ways lest the rest of us, who are compulsive shoppers in a slightly different sense, begin questioning our own buying patterns or expecting something else to do in life but amass things.

8 thoughts on “Compulsive shopping

  1. FXGUY

    Interesting topics and nice blog. Will check back regularly. I have a managed forex trading site that deals with < HREF="http://www.forexcurrencytrading.net" REL="nofollow">managed forex trading<>and blog that also deals with managed forex trading related topics. Drop by if you have a chance.

    Reply
  2. Askinstoo

    Nice Blog!!!   I thought I’d tell you about a site that will let give you places whereyou can make extra cash! I made over $800 last month. Not bad for not doing much. Just put in yourzip code and up will pop up a list of places that are available. I live in a small area and found quitea few. < HREF="http://www.makemoneyfast.us/survey1.html" REL="nofollow">MAKE MONEY NOW<>

    Reply
  3. Computer Anti Virus

    Hey, nice blog and great info!Yesterday, I thought I really found a great site about government article < HREF="http://www.article-exchange.com" REL="nofollow">government article<> – but that was just the teaser. This new one I found about government article is even better than the one before.Come and check it out if you get time I would really appreciate it 🙂

    Reply
  4. hexadecimals resources

    I was reading your blog and thought i would mention this free blog hosting site.Free blog hosting using wordpress. The top blogging tols online and many free templates to choose from. Free hosting. Get your < HREF="http://blogsilla.com/cgi-bin/index.pl" REL="nofollow">make a free blog<> now!< HREF="http://blogsilla.com/cgi-bin/index.pl" REL="nofollow">GET FREE BLOG NOW<>

    Reply
  5. Free Traffic System

    Hello,I liked your blog. I found many interesting information here.I also give free info about forex rate on my <>href=”http://www.WebTradingSystem.com”>Forex Trading System<> site.If you have time please visit my web site to get some free forex rateinformation.Kind regards,Nick

    Reply
  6. Free Traffic System

    Hello,Your blog is great! I found some useful info here. I also give free info about excellent forex system trading. You can seen it on my <>href=”http://www.timetrapsystem.com”>Forex Trading System – Time Trap System<> site. Within few days I will upload 100% Free Forex Trading System to it.If you have time please visit my web site after one week to get some free excellent forex system trading information.

    Reply
  7. .

    I just came across your blog, and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a < HREF="http://www.a1-forex.info/" REL="nofollow">learn forex trading<> blog, so I know what I’m talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here!

    Reply
  8. .

    I just came across your blog, and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a < HREF="http://www.a1-forex.info/" REL="nofollow">forex trading training<> blog, so I know what I’m talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

