towerofsleep:

A lot of these are a surprise to me, honestly. When did I listen to all this Shlohmo? How did I listen to so much Devendra Banhart?? Of course, this is just my computer. It would look a lot different with vinyl and iPod listens included.

I could never use a service like this because I know I would fake-listen to certain bands, the ones that are interesting to me in theory but I don’t actually enjoy very much (Nico, Jandek, Scott Walker, etc.), to cook the stats so I could impress myself with myself at the end of the year.

Nothing drives me toward artificial and Potemkin modes of selfhood more than self-quantification. Need to become more postauthentic.

Leave a Reply

